Local news, News

Prime Minister Harris congratulates Hon Hamilton and People’s Action Movement

Published 20 January 2020

Buckie Got It, St. Kitts and Nevis News Source

Prime Minister Harris congratulates Hon Hamilton and People’s Action Movement

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, January 20, 2020 (PLP PR Media Inc.) — Cayon’s Bethesda Moravian Church was on Sunday January 19 the venue of a morning worship service that also served as the observance of two anniversaries; the Hon Eugene Hamilton’s 10th anniversary as a member of parliament for Constituency Number Eight, and the 55th anniversary of the People’s Action Movement (PAM) as a political party.

“I came to my own church to celebrate a milestone in my life,” said the Hon Eugene Hamilton who is also the Federal Minister of Agriculture, Health, National Insurance, Human Settlements, Community Development, Gender Affairs and Social Services. He is also the Deputy Political Leader of PAM, which is one of the three political parties in the Team Unity Administration.

“It is a milestone for the people of this community as well,” he noted. “Ten years ago, the people of this community favoured me with their vote and gave me the opportunity to serve at the parliamentary level. As I celebrate my tenth anniversary, I made a statement how important this Cayon community in particular is to the political party called PAM. In this community called Cayon, PAM has never lost the support of the people.”

The well attended service which was led by Lay Pastor Sister Isilin Lewis, was attended by Governor General’s Deputy His Excellency, and Mrs, Michael Morton, and Prime Minister of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris.

Leadership of the People’s Action Movement, past and present, was led by the National Political Leader and Deputy Prime Minister the Hon Shawn Richards, and the party’s first Political Leader and First Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, the Rt. Excellent and Rt. Hon Dr Sir Kennedy Simmonds, who is also the only living National Hero.

Others included the other PAM Deputy Political Leader the Hon Lindsay Grant, PAM’s National Chairman Ambassador Jonel Powell, Cabinet Minister the Hon Ian Patches Liburd, PAM’s founding members Ambassador Michael Powell, and Mr Richard Caines, and other People’s Action Movement’s national and branch officials.  

“I want to congratulate the Hon Eugene Hamilton on his tenth anniversary as an elected parliamentarian,” said Prime Minister Harris at the end of the service. “I have been quite impressed by his service as a member of the Team Unity Government over the last five years.”

Dr Harris added: “I therefore invite the people of St. Christopher Eight to favourably consider him and to return him with an improved majority of the votes, so that working together as a Team Unity Government he can continue to do even better service on behalf of all the people of St. Christopher Eight and the country as a whole.”

Prime Minister Harris said he was confident of Hon Hamilton’s work, of his willingness and ability to continue to serve, and added it was therefore a delight for him (Prime Minister) to commend Hon Hamilton on the occasion of his anniversary.

He also congratulated the People’s Action Movement as a member of the Team Unity Family for its years of service; its contribution to the growth and the development of the country; and for its contribution to the country’s democracy and good governance.

Group picture taken in the church at the end of the service.
Prime Minister Harris and Minister Hamilton greet worshippers in church.
Lay Pastor Sister Isilin Lewis delivering the sermon, which dwelt on how to overcome fear.
Top pictures: Prime Minister Harris greets Governor General’s Deputy HE Michael Morton (left), and Deputy Prime Minister Richards (right). Bottom pictures show worshipers in church.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>