Local news, News


Published 21 November 2023


Buckie Got It Media Source


Basseterre, St. Kitts, November 21, 2023 (SKNIS):  Thirteen exemplary nationals of St. Kitts and Nevis were invested with the 2023 National Honours Awards for their exceptional contribution to the development of the Federation at an Investiture Ceremony held by Her Excellency the Governor-General, Dame Marcella Liburd, on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, at Government House.

This year’s recipients of the Companion of the Star of Merit (CSM), who were first honoured on National Heroes Day on September 16, 2023, include Daniel Arthurton (Agriculture, Farming, and Small Business Development), Ima Stanley (Nursing), Ian Queeley (Law Enforcement), Carmen Ward (Education), Ingrid Berridge (Education), Prisca Hyligar (Education and Religion), Dr. Osbert Liburd (Agro-Business, Corporate Business, and Diplomacy), Cynthia Williams (Education), Mitchell Slader (Trade Unionism/Labour Relations), Avril Noel (Education), Peter Jenkins (Sports and Community Activism), Eldora Samuel (Education), and Rubie Taylor (Social Security).

The Companion of the Star of Merit is awarded for long and meritorious service, or loyal and devoted service to the nation.

Prime Minister, the Honourable Dr. Terrance Drew reflected on a saying about how great individuals sow seeds for future generations, understanding they may not personally benefit from their efforts. He emphasized this trait in the award recipients, calling for a standing ovation to appreciate their contributions.

Prime Minister, the Honourable Dr. Terrance Drew

Dr. Drew recognized the recipients not for their accolades, but for their intrinsic qualities of love, hard work and dedication to nation-building, emphasizing that these attributes, rather than their achievements, truly define them and their legacy. 

He remarked that anyone growing up in St. Kitts and Nevis, almost certainly has been personally influenced by at least one of the award recipients, which highlights the significant impact they have had on our nation.

“When I look at them I can clearly say that these are not persons who have all the financial resources bestowed upon them, but I can say that what they carry is much more valuable than that,” said Prime Minister Dr. Drew. “It is a deep love and dedication to the common good that transcends personal advancements. And therefore, this is what I think is the quality that has made them so benefitting of the Companion of the Star Merit.”

The Prime Minister expressed his desire for the nation to consistently recognize and appreciate those who have played crucial roles in the development of St. Kitts and Nevis, especially considering its status as a young nation. He emphasized the invaluable contributions of these men and women across various fields, who have given much more than they have received, offering their utmost for the country’s growth.

The Medal of Honour recipients will be awarded at a similar ceremony on Wednesday, November 22, 2023.

Seated (Left to right) Prime Minister Dr. Drew; Dame Marcella; Deputy Governor General for Nevis Her Honour Hyleta Liburd, and Deputy Prime Minister, the Honourable Dr. Geoffrey Hanley, with the 2023 Awardees of the Companion of Star of Merit (CSM).

You Might Also Like